An Ole Miss pitcher was arrested for DUI on Friday, April 8. The Ole Miss freshman was arrested over the weekend but was still able to pitch in Sunday’s game against the Rebels. It is unclear what the repercussions will be and if the freshman pitcher will undergo any punishments. Whatever the punishment, it will not be suspension from the team. Some are claiming it is unfair and the Ole Miss freshman is receiving special treatment. The freshman’s father was with the St. Louis Cardinals for 12 seasons. Ole Miss is currently ranked 13 in the nation.
Mississippi laws for first offense DUI include jail time for up to 48 hours, $250-$1000 fine, and 90 days license suspension. The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration report the drunk driving laws in Mississippi make it illegal statewide to operate a vehicle with a blood alcohol level of 0.08% or above. The “zero tolerance” law is for people under 21 which restricts driving with any amount of alcohol in their system. These laws are in place to save the lives of Americans against fatal car accidents. Drunk drivers not only put their own lives at risk, but they jeopardize the safety of others on the road.
If you or a loved one have been injured by a drunk driver, please call the firm of Meyerkord, Meyerkord & Kurth. It is necessary for any person who has been injured by a drunk driver to obtain experienced legal help right away. Our attorneys at Meyerkord, Meyerkord & Kurth will fight aggressively to hold the drunk driver legally responsible for all your damages. To receive a free consultation from one of St. Louis’ best personal injury attorneys contact us today.